Cramps – wonder cure

The last run was frustrating! I cramped at the mid-way point just when I was holding a nice rhythm. And later when I spoke about it with a friend, he told me it was caused by Potassium imbalance and recommended ingesting more Potassium – Bananas and coconut water were his recommendations. Another friend (here on WP) suggested using magnesium oil and OTC electrolyte supplement. Since the bananas and tender coconut water were more easily accessible I went for it – had about 3 bananas and only one tender coconut, I also added a little extra sodium to my  diet. Another important inclusion was added sleep. Also, before I hit the sack I popped a Combiflam as the calf was slightly sore.

Things worked out! When I woke up this morning, the calf was OK. After gingerly warming up, while testing my calves all along, I started with the goal of running easy while keeping an eye out for the pain. Reminding myself of the Chi practices, the posture and gait, to limit the calf use while running I set off at an easy pace. Soon I realized that I was striding ok and the pain which was mild at the start was non-existent. Despite the bad traffic and the fear of cramping again, all the while reinforcing the posture recommended by Chi trainers, I ran 10 kms in 58 minutes!

fitbit run timing - 06 July '17!!!!!

So, in summary, the wonder cure:

  • Bananas
  • Tender coconut and
  • plenty of water and rest

I’m not a health professional, but there it worked for me. The goal now is to not slack on the Potassium intake and be mindful about it and the other key nutrients. Here is a recommendation I received:

  1. Racing weight cookbook
  2. The New Rules of Marathon and Half-Marathon Nutrition

 

One thought on “Cramps – wonder cure

  1. Yay! So glad your calf is feeling better! I used to eat a banana everyday but have been off it for a while-going back to it for sure during training. Glad all is working out 😉.

Leave a Reply

