Made it through a tough 5k run

Goal : Weekend long run

Preparation:

  • Yesterday, I made a few mistakes including sleeping late last evening and lesser than usual water intake.
  • In the morning, as a result , I woke not feeling rested. Also, the advice of gradually and carefully upping the weekly mileage increase played in the back of my mind.

The Run:

  • I decided to go and run despite not being the best of physical state and mood.
  • Easy distance and slow speed, with no need to strain.
  • The breath through the run was good, never experienced shortness of breath.
  • There was a pain in the right knee during the run. After the run there was no pain.
  • The heel and the ankle hurt during the run. Overall, my legs hurt and felt heavier.

Post run

  • No stretches
  • the energy levels were only moderately high through the day.

I’ve decided to skip tomorrow’s run and just rest without any other training. Hopefully, I’ll feel better after the rest.

 

 

 

Leave a comment