My 2nd 10K

TCS World 10K 2017, this was the 2nd 10K after my debut in the same event last year. I clocked 1:04:41 this time. Overall, it was very satisfying to have trained, albeit very moderately owing to a calf strain, and to have completed the event.

Tried some changes with the diet too by changing the carb intake till a few days before the event. Since carbs are expected to fuel the run, I stuck to rice for 3 days prior to the event and supplemented potatoes for the extra carbs. It did not make a lot of apparent difference though during the race, but the post race recovery was quick, not sure if it was the carbs. Another change was vitamin D3 supplement. I was diagnosed with low vitamin D3 about a decade ago and prescribed Vitamin D3 oral supplements with instructions to be in the sun for 30 minutes everyday. This time during the training run, I repeatedly had calf strains. Reading online to understand the issue, it seemed to be like a case of Achilles tendinitis. Any additional strain like an uphill run would result in acute pain for about 2 days. The doctor advised me to go through the course of the oral supplement which I’d resisted all along.

The training sessions, while preparing for the race, were interesting as I stuck to my 5 km goal for every run. While the recovery in the practice runs after the 5 km was never an issue, the actual 10K race gave me sore knees and muscles – its a couple of days since the event.

The race was different this time, as I focused on breathing well throughout the race and not worrying too much about keeping my heart rate in check. As advised by most runners, the two stage view of the race helped – the 1st stage being till the race midpoint. Stage 1 pace was evenly paced around 10:15 min/mile (per my Fitbit surge). While the fatigue started to creep up, this still was ok considering that this was the practice run distance. The 2nd stage was labored especially after the 7 km mark and I stopped at least twice. The pace was also slightly faster (9:03 min/mile) in the 2nd stage as the push was to go sub-60.

The tendon and the calf area were mostly cool and only towards the fag end did the pain come back. I’d popped a analgesic the day before as there was soreness in the calf area from the previous practice run from two days ago. Also I used a different shoe as opposed to my regular trainers. I used the Lunar Glide for this run and the added heel support worked in my favor.

For now I’m just sticking to some hand exercise and stretches to avoid injury.  Some changes I will start to make when I restart the training on Thursday:

  • Speed sessions
  • Long runs over the weekends – at the bare minimum 10 km.
  • Weight training for running
  • Running drills
  • Dynamic stretches.

Also, I’ve in my cross hair the next 10K which is a couple of months from now.

Leave a Reply

